RO2 Game Mode : Freeze Tag (WIP)

Been busy working on a game mode for Red Orchestra 2 – FreezeTag is my favourite game mode of any game which is why I am writing it for RO2.

I don’t expect many people to play it when it’s ready for testing as RO2 is a realism based game, but it’s for those who want a bit of different fun action for this game.

A single frozen german player shamefully team killed by me

 

A row of frozen germans (again team killed by me)

 

HUD showing the delayed thawed messages

 

A partially thawed team mate

 

Modified overhead map with snow flakes positioned for frozen team mates

Still have quite a bit to do, but it’s playable to a certain extent.

TODO:
Line of Sight thawing – code already written, just need to hook it up to the mapped [USE]  key
Get the Iceberg mesh correctly using a darker red material for Axis, and blue for Allies to make it easy to distinguish in game
AI can still sometimes run around after being shot
Change start round text to display ‘Freeze Tag’ instead of Firefight – that seems to be ridiculously hard!
Test win conditions work properly
Test online to see if everything works as exepected
Some how get the compass to update to be like the modified overhead map (showing frozen team mates as snowflakes)

2 responses to “RO2 Game Mode : Freeze Tag (WIP)

  1. Hi, I saw this link on the RO2 Forums, i have been waiting for Freeze tag!

    I had no idea someone worked on this! Why havent you finished it?

    Is it possible to get this finished? I want to see it happen.

    Is it possible to get what you have already completed?

    Thanks,
    Aaron.

  2. Following our chat on the RO2 forums earlier, I shall pick this project up again to try and complete it. If I can’t get passed where I was, I will try and get some help from Thor or the S&D guys on the forums. Hopefully I can crack it though. Already ordered a small test server from my GSP, so will get on it this evening to see where I got to 😉

Leave a Reply

